

News Release

For Immediate Release

Appointment of Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit Katimajiit members

IQALUIT, Nunavut (March 1, 2013) – James Arreak, Minister of Culture and Heritage, would like to congratulate 11 elders from across Nunavut on their appointment as Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit Katimajiit (IQK) members for a three-year term.

They are: Saul Aqslaluk Qirngnirq of Gjoa Haven, Ovide Alakannuark of Kugaaruk, Annie Napayok of Whale Cove, Gamailee Kilukishak of Pond Inlet, Josephine Kublu of Igloolik, Daniel Qattalik of Igloolik, Okpik Pitseolak of Iqaluit, Martha Michael of Iqaluit, Martha Tikivik of Iqaluit, Adamie Veevee of Pangnirtung, and Levi Evic of Pangnirtung.

"I am excited that we have new IQK members, and I look forward to their guidance as the Government of Nunavut continues to deliver Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit initiatives to our workforce," said Minister Arreak.

The Department of Culture and Heritage is mandated to coordinate the incorporation of Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit in the delivery of all GN programs and services. All policies and practices must be consistent with Inuit beliefs, customs, values and language.

###

Media contact:

Andrea Flaherty Communications Officer Department of Culture and Heritage Tel: 867-975-5543 Email: <u>aflaherty@gov.nu.ca</u>